Chadron State College
Chadron State College

Board of Trustees approves several items during recent meeting

Apr 30, 2018

PERU, Neb. – The Board of Trustees of the Nebraska State College System hosted its most recent meeting at Peru State College April 20.

The Board of Trustees approved several items for Chadron State College, Peru State College, and Wayne State College, in addition to reviewing items for consent and discussion.

The first item the Board approved was the Teaching Excellence Award recipient from each college. Chadron State College’s nominee is Dr. Kim Madsen, Professor of Applied Sciences. In addition to Madsen, other nominees include Peru State’s Dr. Dennis Welch, Professor Chemistry, and Wayne State’s Dr. Randy Bertolas, Professor of Geography.

Another agenda item introduced each college’s Student Trustee as selected by Gov. Pete Ricketts. Chadron State’s Dawson Brunswick, Peru State’s Camarie Stratman, and Wayne State’s Ria Pedersen will begin a year-long appointment to the Board of Trustees in May 2018.

The Board approved Chadron State’s request to reorganize its number of Academic Chairs from 12 to six. According to Board materials, the reduction in Chairs offers a more feasible way to train Chairs, including internal training as well as external training opportunities. Chairs will rotate on a three-year cycle to assist with continuity. The new Academic Chair structure will positively impact CSC’s budget, and has the possibility to increase synergy across academic units to advance enrollment initiatives, including engagement and retention.

As part of the change, the names of CSC’s three academic schools are also changing at the beginning of the 2018 academic year. The school currently known as Business, Entrepreneurship, Applied and Mathematical Sciences, and Sciences (BEAMSS) will become Business, Mathematics, and Science (BMS). The school currently known as Education, Human Performance, Psychology, Counseling, and Social Work (EHPCPSW) will become Professional Studies and Applied Sciences (PSAS). The School of Liberal Arts will retain its name.

Department chairs for upcoming academic year are: Dr. Wendy Jamison, Associate Professor and Chair of Mathematical and Natural Sciences; Dr. Wendy Waugh, Professor and Chair of Business; Dr. Shaunda French-Collins, Associate Professor and Chair of Communication, Music, Art, and Theatre; Dr. David Nesheim, Associate Professor and Chair of Justice Studies, Social Sciences, and English; Dr. Don King, Professor and Chair of Professional Studies: Education, Counseling, Psychological Sciences, and Social Work; and Dr. Scott Ritzen, Professor and Chair of Health, Physical Education and Recreation, Family and Consumer Sciences, Range Management, and Military and Science Leadership.

Other academic items approved by the include granting Emeritus Status for former Chadron State Music Professor Dr. G.W. “Sandy” Schaefer, and four academic programs – Art, English, Music, and Theatre –were successfully reviewed based on requirements from the Coordinating Commissions for Postsecondary Education (CCPE).

Additionally, the five-year academic calendar was approved, and CSC was granted approval to renew its Memorandum of Understanding with the University of Nebraska-Lincoln for a 3+1 transfer program in Agricultural Education Teaching Option. The option allows students to continue their education in the Agricultural Education degree program with the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources at UNL, according to Board materials.

The Board of Trustees also approved tuition rates, fee recommendations, and room and board rates for the 2018-19 academic year.

Finally, the Board approved several items dealing with the Sports Complex, currently in construction. In recognition of substantial contributions designated for the project, CSC requested to name the following areas in honor of the donors who provided substantial financial gifts and services to the college: the 21st Century Equipment LLC Ticket Office, the Dr. Frank Ferguson Meet Management Facility, the Dr. Samuel Rankin President’s Suite, and the Security First Bank Concourse.

The Board also approved project funding from the existing Sports Complex budget to install field lights on Elliott Field.

—CSC College Relations