Early Alert

Early Alert

EARLY ALERT FORM

Do Not Use this Form for a Crisis or Emergency DIAL 911

For Issues Requiring Immediate Attention Call:
Day – Kathy Mason Ext. 6231
Night – Security Ext. 6037

Purpose:
The purpose is to provide a referral system which will enable the College to be proactive in the support of our students.

Reasons to Use an Alert:
Some suggestions for use of an Early Alert Form would be: changes in classroom and other behavior; poor grades; attendance irregularity; overdue assignments; lack of participation; etc.

Confidentiality:
We require anyone who follows up with a student to handle the matter professionally and in accordance with all privacy regulations.

Means of Sending Early Alerts:
Any faculty or staff can utilize this form to indicate that a student is struggling academically or otherwise and warrants further follow up via intrusive advising from the Early Alert Team. Faculty and staff are asked to be judicious in their use of this program as it is intended to be an intensive reach out and intervention for a student beyond what is appropriate in the classroom setting.

Timing:
If you are encountering a critical situation which requires immediate attention DO NOT USE THIS FORM! Please use appropriate emergency phone numbers listed above. For all other matters the EA Team will respond to intake forms in a timely manner and assign a case manager to follow through completion. Generally, Early Alert notices will be checked once daily.

Ensuring Follow-Through:
The EA Team keeps a confidential log of the Early Alert, with the student’s name, the referral source, the name of the person who has agreed to make contact with the student, dates of attempted contact, follow-up information, and comments regarding the well-being of the Alertee. The EA Team will provide due diligence in connecting a student to the appropriate success resources. The team will notify the referrer and/or the student’s faculty advisor when the Early Alert is received as appropriate.

We greatly appreciate your concern for our students and the part you play in the system. If you have any questions regarding the Early Alert process, please call Cheryl Butler at 308-432-6488 or e-mail her at cbutler@csc.edu.

Student Success Service Staff Contact Direct Extension Email Address
Career Exploration Deena Kennell 6467 dkennell@csc.edu
Counseling (Personal) Jerry Cassiday 6268 jcassiday@csc.edu
Disability Services Jerry Cassiday 6268 jcassiday@csc.edu
Health Services/Clinic Ann Dockweiler 6022 adockweiler@csc.edu
Financial Aid START Office 6060 start@csc.edu
International Students Tamsyn Carey 6496 tcarey@csc.edu
Schedule Building/Advising START Staff 6060 start@csc.edu
Study Skills Frances Gonzalez 6381 fgonzalez@csc.edu
Tutoring/Learning Center Frances Gonzalez 6381 fgonzalez@csc.edu
Transitional Studies Cheryl Butler 6488 cbutler@csc.edu
TRiO/Project Strive Jennifer Schaer 6069 jschaer@csc.edu
Housing & Residence Life Sherri Simons 6466 ssimons@csc.edu

For unique student issues contact the following:

Jon Hansen (Interim Vice President of Enrollment Management) at 432-6231 (jhansen@csc.edu) Counseling & Health Services, Housing, Student Activities, Security & Conduct, Tutoring, TRiO/SSS

Sherry Douglas (Senior Director of Student Services) at 432-6107 (sdouglas@csc.edu) Financial Aid, START Office, Records Office, Admissions, Business Office