Chadron State College
Chadron State College

Mission, Vision, and Accreditation

Mission Statement

Chadron State College delivers experiences that foster knowledgeable and engaged leaders and citizens to enrich the High Plains region and beyond. 

Vision Statement

Chadron State College aspires to continue as a learner-centered institution. We are committed to students through our focus on continuous improvement and excellence in teaching, applied scholarship, and service.

Institution Accreditation

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation that was founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. HLC accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region.

Higher Learning Commission
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500
Chicago, IL 60604

Program Accreditation

Specialized Accreditation

Specialized accreditation may occur through various means: discipline-specific (social work); discipline-specific schools or colleges within universities (e.g. law schools), and in some cases stand-alone institutions, such as those serving the health industry. Not all academic disciplines have specialized accreditation entities such as history or literature. Some disciplines have more than one such as business, possessing three specialized accreditation bodies.

The following accreditation has been granted to CSC:


ACBSP LogoThe degree programs offered by the CSC Business Academy have been accredited by the  Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP), a professional accreditation agency. The ACBSP emphasizes teaching excellence. Such accreditation matches CSC's central purpose as a learner-centered institution.

Child Development Center

NAEYC LogoThe College operates a Child Development Center as a community service and a laboratory for students planning to work professionally with young children. This Center is accredited through the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) which sets standards for early childhood educational programs.


The CSC Music Department has earned specialized accreditation through the National Association of Schools of Music (NASM). The announcement was made at the NASM annual meeting in Dallas, Texas, in November 2016. The address of NASM is: 11250 Roger Bacon Drive, Suite 21, Reston, VA 20190-5248. The phone number is 703-437-0700. 

Social Work

The CSC Social Work program is accredited by CSWE. The Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) is a nonprofit national association recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation as the sole accrediting agency for social work education in this country. CSWE accreditation is required for CSC graduates if they intend to be certified in the State of Nebraska and wish to practice as social workers. 

Teacher Education

Chadron State College's teacher education program is accredited under the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) Standards through the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) accreditation system for a period of seven years, from Fall 2013 through Spring 2020. Chadron State College will seek accreditation under the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) Standards in spring 2020.  As of 2013, CAEP was the single specialized accreditor for educator preparation and administers NCATE accreditation.

Programs Requiring Nebraska State Certification or Licensure

In order to practice in the State of Nebraska, graduates within Education, Social Work, and Counseling must meet the Nebraska licensing or certification requirement. For information about the requirement determined by the State see the following:


Social Work

Clinical Mental Health Counseling