Chadron State College
Chadron State College

Local Organizational Scholarships

Alpha Iota Chapter of Alpha Delta Kappa

Deadline: May 1st

Alpha Iota Chapter of Alpha Delta Kappa is accepting applications for their scholarship. The scholarship will be awarded to an undergraduate student from Southwest Nebraska who has completed the sophomore year in college in the field of education. The $300 scholarship will be awarded in June. To qualify for this scholarship, the student must have a grade point average of 3.0 or above.

Counties to be included in this designation of SW NE are: Chase, Dundy, Frontier, Furnas, Hayes, Hitchcock, and Red Willow.

Alpha Delta Kappa is an international honorary organization of women educators dedicated to education excellence, altruism and world understanding. Alpha Iota Chapter encompasses members from southwest Nebraska. To request an application form, please contact Donna Harr, scholarship Chair, at or call (308) 345-3512 and leave mailing information. Application deadline is May 1.

American Legion

Deadline: April 1st

The American Legion, Bill Dowling Post No. 12, provides this scholarship to be awarded to a freshman student selected from Chadron High School.

Recipient Must:

  • Have a parent that is a member of the Bill Dowling Post No. 12 American Legion Auxiliary
  • Graduate in the Upper 10%
  • Selection on basis of Scholarship, Character and Leadership

In order to receive the scholarship for second semester, the recipient must maintain a “C” average.

This scholarship is renewable with a “B” average. Students who wish to apply for or renew this scholarship must contact the Youth Activity Committee of the American Legion Post No. 12, Chadron, Nebraska, or their High School Counselor for an application.

Hugh Bunnell

Deadline: May 1st

The Hugh Bunnell Scholarship is offered by The Alliance Times-Herald.

Recipient Must:

  • Be a Graduate of Box Butte County High School
  • Studying News or Advertising Journalism

Applications must be accompanied by a 500-1,000 word essay on the applicant’s expectations of a career in journalism, a teacher’s recommendation and a grade transcript. The recipient will be announced by May 15.

Chadron Public Library Foundation/Pauline Moody

Deadline: February 15th

The Chadron Public Library Foundation awards a $500 scholarship each year.

Recipient Must:

  • Be a High School Senior of Chadron or Crawford High Schools

This scholarship was established in 1987 in memory of Pauline Moody, a longtime educator and resident of Dawes County and a major contributor to the Chadron Public Library Foundation.

Applications are available from the Chadron or Crawford High School Guidance Counselors or by contacting the Chadron Public Library. All completed applications should be returned to the High School guidance counselor.

Common Cents

Recipient Must:

  • Be employed or have a parent employed by Common Cents for at least six months
  • Have a cumulative GPA of 2.5 or above
  • Rank in the upper one-half of his/her class
  • Financial need and scholastic ability will be considered

An application and additional information can be obtained by contacting the manager of Common Cents.

Emick-Masonic Youth

The Glenn O. and Evelyn F. Emick Memorial Scholarship provides a $1,000 scholarship.

Recipient Must:

  • Be attending either Chadron, Peru or Wayne State College
  • Show a respectable scholastic record
  • Be a Nebraska resident
  • Be active in one of the Masonic youth organizations: Demolay, Job’s Daughters or Rainbow Girls

An application and further information can be acquired by writing:
Grand Lodge of Nebraska
PO Box 81852
Lincoln, NE 68501-1852

Mitchell-Gantz Educational and Charitable Trust

Recipient Must:

  • Be a resident of Sioux, Dawes, Box Butte, Sheridan, Morrill, Garden, Cherry, Grant, Hooker or Arthur Counties of Nebraska

Additional information and an application may be obtained by writing:
Mitchell-Gantz Educational and Charitable Trust
Community First State Bank and Trust Company
PO Drawer A
Alliance, NE 69301

Wal-Mart Scholarships

The Wal-Mart Foundation has several different scholarships. For more information go to

Scottsbluff County Education Association

Application Deadline: April 30

The Scottsbluff County Education Association offers an annual $200 scholarship.

Recipient Must:

  • Be a graduate of County a Class I School District in Scottsbluff County
  • Majoring in Education

An application can be obtained from:
County Superintendents Office
County Administration Building
Gering, NE 69341