Chadron State College
Chadron State College

Commencement, Ivy Day set for this week

May 2, 2011

Chadron State College will celebrate the end of the 2010-2011 academic year with two commencement exercises and Ivy Day this week.

Ivy Day, which honors the outstanding graduates, will be Friday, May 6, at 7 p.m. In Memorial Hall. The college will confer master’s degrees at 8 a.m. Saturday in Memorial Hall and bachelor’s degrees at 10 a.m. in the Armstrong Physical Education Building. There are a total of 308 degree candidates, 237 of which are undergraduate and 71 graduate.

Graduation ceremonies this year are taking on special significance to mark CSC’s first 100 years. The diplomas will be specially marked for CSC’s centennial celebration.

Larry Miller of Spearfish, S.D., a CSC alumnus who is retired from 40-year career in broadcasting, will deliver the commencement address to the undergraduates. The speaker for the early event will be Dr. Norma Nealeigh, CSC professor of family and consumer sciences.

Select graduates will present opening and closing moments of reflection at each of the commencement ceremonies. They are Samuel Tetteh of Ghana, Willie Uhing of Chadron, Rebecca Fernau of Chadron and Trevor Dietrich of Mitchell. The latter ceremony Saturday also will feature military commissioning by the ROTC.

Ivy Day is one of CSC’s longest standing traditions, evolving from a May Day program dating back to 1920.

Dr. Jay Sutliffe, assistant professor of family and consumer sciences, will deliver the faculty greeting at Ivy Day, and the student orators are Jennifer Weiss of Ainsworth and Jordan Haas of Hemingford.

Friday’s event also will feature the presentation of the Platinum Eagle, awarded annually to a student who displays outstanding campus involvement, and the Ivy Day royalty, selected by a vote the student body.

Candidates for queen are Elizabeth Ridder of Callaway, Montanna Barnett of of Dickinson, N.D., Katrina Mundt of Alliance, Kathryn Score of Elgin and Ashley Maxon of Laurel. King candidates are Haas, Nicholas Stokey of Paxton, Jacob Zitterkopf of Scottsbluff, Weston Hafner of Ludlow, S.D. and Brad Havranek of Gering.

—Justin Haag, CSC Information Services