Chadron State College
Chadron State College

Ivy Day royalty, Platinum Eagle recipients named

May 4, 2018

2018 royalty
The 2018 Ivy Day royalty include, left to right, Johnathan Sayaloune, Aaron Duin, Kevin Zhang, Cory Salitrik, John Murphy, Ashtyn Nelson, Madison Reece, Melissa VanDerslice, Kelsey Brummels, and Isabella Irish. Murphy and Nelson were named king and queen, respectively, before Ivy Day Friday, May 4, 2018 at Chadron State College. (Photo by Alex Helmbrecht)

CHADRON – Chadron State College recognized seniors at the annual Ivy Day ceremony Friday in Memorial Hall. The event, which has occurred at CSC every year since 1919, is co-sponsored by the Blue Key and Cardinal Key honor societies.

Ivy Day royalty elected by the student body were queen Ashtyn Nelson of Chadron, and king John Murphy of Harrison, Nebraska.

The queen’s attendants were Madison Reece, Melissa VanDerslice, Kelsey Brummels and Isabella Irish.

The king’s attendants included Johnathan Sayaloune, Aaron Duin, Cory Salitrik, Kevin Zhang.

The Platinum Eagle awards were presented to Blake Hansen of Hemingford, Nebraska, and VanDerslice of Columbus, Nebraska. The award, considered the highest honor a CSC student can receive, is presented annually to one male and one female for distinguished leadership and service.

The winners of the royalty competition and Platinum Eagle were just some of the outstanding winter 2017 and spring 2018 graduates who received accolades during Ivy Day. Many students were also recognized for their outstanding accomplishments in their primary fields of study or other honors.

In addition, special recognition was given to students who graduated with one of three honor designations: summa cum laude, magna cum laude and cum laude.

Ivy Day Award Recipients

The following list contains students who will receive departmental awards and other honors during Ivy Day. Addresses are those provided by the graduates.


Alliance: Sherrye Belford, Business Education; Sydnie Hiemstra, National Business Education Association Award of Merit; Cheng Zhang, Pre-Law Student

Atkinson: Jessica Thiele, Communication Arts

Callaway: Michaela Weverka, Social Work

Central City: Sara Joe, Management

Chadron: Nicky Banzhaf, Clyde Bond Memorial Award and English Education; Benjamin Enns, Chemistry Education; Stephanie Gardener, Literature; Courtney Kouba, History; Elsa Taylor-Cless, Psychological Science

Columbus: Whitney Coop, Outstanding Student in Business

Cozad: Todd Roenfeldt, Legal Studies Major

Curtis: Regan Garey, English Education

Ellsworth: Sierra Bixby, Outstanding Achievement on Peregrine Exam and Finance

Ewing: Kelsey Brummels, Marketing

Gering: Patrick Fuller, Psychological Science; Daniel O'Boyle, Physical Education; Katie Scott, Education; Jonathan Sayaloune, Human Biology; Daniel Starke, Outstanding Achievement on Peregrine Exam and Agribusiness

Gordon: Trey Allison, Social Science 7-12

Gothenburg: Cody Cooper, Outstanding Achievement on Peregrine Exam; Jessica Lawless, Outstanding Achievement on Peregrine Exam

Hemingford: Blake Hansen, Chemistry; Isabella Irish, Criminal Justice Major and Psychological Science

Maywood: Justine Stone, Communication Arts

Mitchell: Stephanie Alfred, Business Information Systems

North Platte: Margaret Gregory, Science Education

Omaha: Jordyn Schwenk, Psychological Science

Randolph: Leo Haselhorst, Theatre

Rushville: Melissa Jech, Rangeland Management

Scottsbluff: Rylee Ott, Outstanding Achievement on Peregrine Exam; Michelle Talbot, Psychological Science

Sidney: Karson Langley, Education; Karissa Segelke, Outstanding Achievement on Peregrine Exam

Stapleton: Kellie Main, Psychological Science

York: Dacia Stuhr, Sprots and Recreation Management


Colorado Springs: Kendra Baucom, Art

Eaton: Jazmin Schwark, Social Work

Frederick: Cheyanna Thompson, Music

Highlands Ranch: Austin Fajfer, Wildlife Biology

Littleton: Blake Jacobs, Mathematics

Pueblo: Crystal Trout, Outstanding Achievement on Peregrine Exam

Sedgwick: Keeya Marquez, Social Science 7-12

Thornton: Mikaela Fatzinger, Criminal Justice Major

South Dakota

Geddes: Brandi Cwach, Outstanding Achievement on Peregrine Exam

Hot Springs: Samuel Martin, Theatre

Newell: Prestyn Novak, Outstanding Achievement on Peregrine Exam

Pierre: Tory Snyder, Art and History 7-12

Sioux Falls: Christopher Mailloux, Criminal Justice Major and Psychological Science


Lusk: Kassidy Miller, Criminal Justice Student with Forensic Studies Emphasis

Pine Bluffs: Alejandro Garcia, Health Education

Rock Springs: Cory Salitrik, Accounting

Sheridan: Chae Bybee, Psychological Science

Other States and Countries

Milpitas, Calif.: Elianna Nguyen, Top Gun Peregrine Exam

Trabuco Canyon, Calif.: Daniel CdeBaca, Outstanding Achievement on Peregrine Exam

Kamakura, Japan: Shoichi Arai, Molecular Biology

Metairie, La.: Robert Taylor, General Business

East Liberty, Ohio: Cassandra Jackson, Psychological Science

Orem, Utah: Jennifer Yakiwchuk, Outstanding Achievement on Peregrine Exam

Hanoi, Vietnam: Anh Le, Communication Arts

Auburn, Wash.: Laural Harris, Psychological Science

Honor Graduates

Summa Cum Laude


Brady: Autumn Hild

Bridgeport: Marqui Keim

Chadron: Nicky Banzhaf

Chambers: Leanne DeKay

Columbus: Whitney Coop

Curtis: Regan Garey

Gordon: Brittney Anderson

Hampton: Rachel Dowling

Harrison: Joshua Kling, Lindsay Ranger

Hay Springs: Jeffrey Matthews

Hemingford: Isabella Irish

McCook: Ashton Harpham

North Platte: Amy Callendar-Taft, Margaret Gregory

Rushville: Melissa Jech

Scottsbluff: Ashley Harman

Sutherland: Alissa Meyer

York: Dacia Stuhr


Colorado Springs: Kendra Baucom

Erie: Haley Gallagher

Sedgwick: Keeya Marquez

Thornton: Mikaela Fatzinger

South Dakota

Midland: Cattibrie Nichols

Pierre: Tory Snyder

Rapid City: Aimee Glandt

Sioux Falls: Christopher Mailloux


Albin: Cassady Malm

Newcastle: Courtney Munger

Sheridan: Lela Belus

Magna Cum Laude


Chadron: Ashtyn Nelson

Columbus: Melissa VanDerslice

Cozad: Todd Roenfeldt

Ewing: Kelsey Brummels

Gering: Jerrick Bowers

Gordon: Jessica Hurd

Grand Island: Hillary Bollish

Harrison: John Murphy

Mitchell: Havannah Newens

Morrill: Amanda Kaufman

North Platte: Sara Pierce

Omaha: Aaron Duin, Jordyn Schwenk

Randolph: Leo Haselhorst

Scottsbluff: Mindy Cress, Charles Knapper, Joshua Reynolds

Sidney: Karson Langley


Casper: Brooklynne Kegler

Douglas: Taylor Dick

Wolf: Tyler Kane

Other States and Countries

Calhan, Colo.: Wyatt Helton

Uhersky Brod, Czech Republic: Dominika Senkerikova

Elkhart, Ind.: Rylan Fultz

Newton, Kan.: Cory Martens

Metairie, La.: Robert Taylor

Newell, S.D.: Prestyn Novak

Rapid City, S.D.: Bailey Broderick

Fond du Lac, Wisc.: Elizabeth Braun

Cum Laude


Alliance: Cheng Zhang

Crawford: Alexis Phillips

Gering: Laettner Blanco, Shelton Blanco, Justin Brester, Katherine O'Boyle, Johnathan Sayaloune, Katie Scott

Gordon: Sara Ginkens, Elspeth Moon

Hemingford: Blake Hansen

Mitchell: Morgan Rien

Morrill: Morgan Peacock

Sargent: Ryan Mosier

West Point: Rhonda Heldt


Colorado Springs: Amanda Spaeth

Eaton: Jazmin Schwark

Fort Morgan: Madalyn Brashears

Frederick: Cheyanna Thompson

Littleton: Blake Jacobs

South Dakota

Geddes: Brandi Cwach

Hot Springs: Shelby Hills, Samuel Martin

Rapid City: James Hubbeling, Mary Anne Johnson


Casper: Ryan Jueneman

Gillette: Alex Brigham

Lusk: Kassidy Miller

Rock Springs: Cory Salitrik

Torrington: Carlie Enns

Wright: Holly Real

Other States and Countries

Arad, Israel: Keren Boyce

Poltava, Ukraine: Inna Kucherenko



—CSC College Relations

2018 platinum eagles
Melissa VanDerslice of Columbus, Nebraska, and Blake Hansen of Hemingford, Nebraska, were named the 2018 Platinum Eagle honorees at Ivy Day Friday, May 4, 2018 at Chadron State College. (Photo by Alex Helmbrecht)