Chadron State College
Chadron State College

Haynes named 2016 Co-Citizen of the Year

January 10, 2017

Terri Haynes
Terri Haynes

CHADRON – Terri Haynes and Caroline Winchester, Chadron residents with ties to Chadron State College, were named Co-Citizens of the Year for 2016 by “The Chadron Record” for their work with Chadron Public Schools.

Haynes, an academic adviser at CSC, completed 20 years of service on the Chadron Public Schools Board of Education in December. She came to CSC in 2009 and worked in the online program and START office before moving to the Business Academy two years ago.

Winchester has taught an online graduate course, “Advanced Methods of Performance Assessment,” for the CSC Education department since 2010.

Both women emphasize that the successes of Chadron Public Schools and the students enrolled there are the results of many people working together.

“It is a collaborative effort between the board, administration, teachers, staff, and community working together,” Winchester said. “The board encouraged me to grow professionally and I enjoy going to school each and every day because we work as a team and recognize challenges as opportunities.”

Haynes echoed the sentiment.

“We have been a great team, we are about collaboration and it works. There have definitely been challenges but we faced these as a team,” Haynes said. “The past and present board members have evolved this board into a high functioning board. It is an opportunity to join such an organization.”

Efforts led by Haynes and Winchester, include overcoming a $1.6 million state support shortfall and a noteworthy increase in reading test scores for juniors helped earn them additional honors leading up to the “Co-Citizen of the Year” shared title.

Winchester was named the Superintendent of the Year by the Nebraska Association of School Administrators in 2015 and Haynes earned the Ann Maciter Leadership for Learning Award in November from the State Association of School Boards.

Joel Hyer, dean of Business, Entrepreneurship, Applied and Mathematical Sciences and Sciences, said Haynes is deserving of the award.

“She cares genuinely for students, and it shows. She approaches individual students in an effort to bring out the best in them, and to help them reach their potential. Her optimism is boundless,” Hyer said.

Jim Powell, dean of Education, Human Performance, Counseling, Psychology and Social Work, said Haynes has been an active and vital leader for the Faculty and Staff Recruitment and Retention committee.

“She has spearheaded the efforts to engage the community in responding to new faculty and staff needs. Through her efforts an online resource is being developed to provide easy access to the most common questions and needs faced by new employees,” Powell said.

Nathaniel Gallegos, business department chair said he values Haynes in her student advising role at the college, as well as her volunteerism.

“She has helped us identify efficiencies to internal processes that keep our department nimble and not bogged down in senseless busywork. She is genuinely personable and her positivity is infectious. Her commitment to the community is Herculean from the school boards to the Rotary,” Gallegos said.

Winchester noted the symbiosis of Chadron State and the Chadron school system.

“When I interviewed for this position, I recognized the importance of the partnership between CPS and CSC. We need to all be at the top of our game. Both institutions influence the future of education not only in Nebraska, but regionally,” Winchester said.

Powell acknowledged Winchester’s contributions to the CSC education curriculum.

“Her insights as a current superintendent allow our students to better understand what will be required of them in K-12 administration. She is also an active participant and collaborator in all areas of our Teacher Preparation program,” Powell said.

Former Citizens of the Year who were employed or involved with CSC at the time of the honor were: Dr. Edwin Nelson, Dr. Sam Rankin, CSC Football Team and Con Marshall.

Others who worked at CSC include: Sandra Scofield, Emily Klein, Jim Sheaffer, Roger Wess, Darrell Marshall and Mary Lecher.

In addition, Dr. Allen Alderman was president of the Chadron State Foundation and Vern Chicoine and Bill Lindeken were major benefactors to campus.

—Tena L. Cook, Marketing Coordinator