Chadron State College
Chadron State College

Program continuation, Teaching Excellence nominees highlight March Board of Trustees meeting

March 24, 2016

CHADRON – The most recent meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Nebraska State College System was at Peru State College March 17-18.

In addition to the items for consent and discussion, the Board of Trustees approved several items for the three state colleges – Chadron State, Peru State and Wayne State.

One of the most notable things announced was the college’s nominees for the Teaching Excellence Award in 2016. Chadron State College’s nominee is Bruce Hoem, associate professor of social work. Chadron State faculty members have won the award three of the last four years.

Other nominees include Wayne State’s Joe Blankenau, professor of political science, and Peru State’s Kelly Asmussen, professor of criminal justice. The Teaching Excellence Award winner will be announced at a later date by the Board of Trustees and the faculty member will be formally recognized at a Board meeting.

Another announcement introduced each college’s Student Trustee, as selected by Gov. Pete Ricketts. Chadron State’s Coy Clark, Peru State’s Treyten Nelson and Wayne State’s Henry Miller will begin a year-long appointment to the Board of Trustees in May 2016.

A major approval centered around continuing academic programs. According to Board Policy 4200, existing academic programs shall be reviewed every seven years by each college to determine the quality and effectiveness of each program, the efficiency with which each is delivered, and to avoid duplication. Each program is evaluated based on requirements established by the Coordinating Commission for Post Secondary Education (CCPE).

The Board unanimously approved the motion to continue the following six existing CSC programs: Business Administration, Master’s of Business Administration, Justice Studies, Mathematics, Social Science and Technical Occupations.

“With the new leadership at WSC and PSC, the chief academic officers are exploring avenues to collaborate,” Chadron State Vice President of Academic Affairs Charles Snare said. “I also appreciated the feedback provided by the CSC Promotion and Tenure and Faculty Senate committees for the chief academic officers meeting, which transpired prior to the Board meeting. Such feedback furnishes me the opportunity to advocate for important policy and process changes.”

Athletic programs and how they comply with their institutional self-studies, also was discussed. Chadron State and Wayne State, both members of NCAA Division II, declared their ongoing commitments to the Principles of Conduct of Intercollegiate Athletics, as outlined in the NCAA Constitution.

The 2016-17 salary policy, student employee work hours, graduate student eligibility and clarification, and five-year academic calendar were also approved during the Board meeting.

Additionally, many items were discussed with the Board, including residence hall occupancy reports, grant awards, and reports from Chancellor Stan Carpenter and each of the college’s presidents.

The next Board of Trustees meeting is scheduled for June 10 in Lincoln.

—Alex Helmbrecht, Director of College Relations