Chadron State College
Chadron State College

Heroes Homecoming preparations are underway

September 30, 2013

Preparations for Chadron State College’s Heroes Homecoming are building with a number of events leading up to the Oct. 5 football game against Adams State with a 1:30 p.m. start.

Voting has commenced for homecoming royalty and will end at noon on Oct. 3. The king and queen will be crowned at the Spirit Rally at 6:30 p.m. Oct. 3 in the Armstrong Gym.

Bed sheet posters created by campus groups have been submitted and will be on display after they are judged. Yard art on campus and in the community will be judged Oct. 3 at noon.

The traditional Lighting of C Hill will take place at the clock tower Oct. 2 at 6 p.m.

The Eagle 5k run/walk, organized by Chris Green, Nelson Physical Activity Center, will start at 8 a.m. Registration takes place on the west side of the NPAC from 7-7:45 a.m.

High schools bands from Valentine and Crawford plan to participate in the Chadron State College Homecoming parade Oct, 5. The parade starts at 9:30 a.m. at the corner of First and Main. There is no need to pre-register. However, different types of entries are required to line up in different locations near the starting point, so participants should consult the parade rules online.

A full schedule of all student and alumni events is available at on the CSC website.

Karen Pope, director of alumni and development, said, “Our office always looks forward to homecoming. So many come back to see us and it is a lot of fun to see them. There are some remarkable changes on campus this year, even if they were here a year ago. It’s exciting to share that with them.”

2013 Heroes Homecoming royalty candidates:

Ag Club - Adam Deiterman and Katie Whalen

Allies - Amanda Gibbs and Katie Lou Krebs

Band - Tom Frear and Elizabeth Orr

Blue Key - Glen Clinton

CAB - Lane Swedberg and Reba Jackson

Cardinal Key - Jessie Thalheim

Chi Alpha - Jesse Young and Ashley Young

Choir - Brendan Mead and Arielle Tiensvold

College Republicans - Deon Allen

FCS - Cyndi Thomas

Health Professions - Daniel Regier and Kate Phelps

HPER Club - Brandon White and Kelli Johnson

International Club - Jorge Flores and Mercy Gagnon

MTNA - Derek Phelps and Amy Graham

NAfME - Curtis Stevens and Holly Bracht

Natural Sciences Club - Jason Yuill and Maggie Darnell

Newman House - Jacob Rissler and Kaitlyn Higgins

NOCS - Tell Deatrich and Heather Wing

Nu Delta Alpha - Ariel Sikes

Omega Phi Rho - Xavier Kvistad

Outdoor Adventure Club - Kirby Krogman and Katie Steele

Pre-vet - Holly Doyle

Public Relations - Sam Parker and Justy Bullington

Residence Life - Jazz Bozner and Apolonia Calleja

Revive - James Radar and Mariah Radar

Rodeo Club - Collin Chytka and Jessie Sturman

Student Senate - Jon Lordino and Dani Buckley

Sigma Tau Delta - Jacob Smiley and Hannah Clark

Social Sciences - Russel Zephier and Erin Dunn

Social Work - Dalton Boden and Dani Grothe

Sports Medicine - Coleman Ahrens and Kristine Bond

Student Alumni Council - Beth Wroblewski

The Eagle - Spike Jordan and Ashley Swanson

The Pit - Fred Culp and Jennie Robbins

War Eagles - Evan Baker and Kalee Brewer

Wildlife Club - Jason Clark and Amanda Hicks

Women's Rugby - Mariah Gaston