Chadron State College
Chadron State College

CSC brings back rodeo queen contest

July 29, 2013

On Sept. 21, a Miss CSC Rodeo will be crowned for the first time in nearly 40 years.

Jon Hansen, vice president of Enrollment Management and Marketing, said of the new venture, “It is yet another activity to expand student engagement. Traditionally we have a number of students enrolled at CSC who have earned recognition as rodeo queens in their local communities and this will give them an opportunity to continue with this interest.”

A partial list of past CSC rodeo queens compiled from yearbooks includes the following. Alumni and friends of CSC are welcome to forward any additional names of former CSC rodeo queens to Karen Pope in the Alumni Office.

1959       Connie Prewitt Madison

1960       Beverly Kicken

1961       Jerry Engelbrecht

1962       Winona Woodworth Losacco

1963       Penny Chaulk Wikum

1964       Florence Fish Thompson

1971       Maureen Manning

1972       Barbara Ruby

1973       Connie Oatman Huckfeldt

1974       Brenda Becker

Laure Sinn, coordinator of student activities, is chairing the rodeo queen committee.

A tentative schedule of qualifying events is set for the week prior to Family Day and the CSC rodeo Sept. 21. More details about the contest will be released as they become available.